31st Summer Music Festival 15 July - 2 August

Click Here for Tickets

Sounds of Spring 2011

Andrew Lang, violin
Rachel Hess, violin
Andrew Phillips, viola
Felix Buser, cello
Roy Chilton, double bass
Thomas McIntosh, piano

Johannes Brahms  (1833-1897)
Piano Concerto No 2 in B flat major, Op. 83

Franz Liszt  (1811-1886)
Concerto in E minor for Piano and Strings
‘Malediction’  S121, Op. 452

In celebration of the bicentenary of the birth of Franz Liszt in 1811, we are programming his ‘Malediction’ Concerto for piano and strings. This fine work is not performed as often as it deserves, and no-one should be deterred by the description ‘Malediction’.  The darkness of the opening soon gives way to a ‘succession of mood pictures - poetical, romantic and emotional’ (Humphrey Searle).

The other work on the programme is Brahms’s great second Piano Concerto.  As a follow-up to our very successful performance in 2009 of the Five Beethoven Piano Concerti arranged for a String Quintet accompaniment, the same scoring will be used in the Brahms.

 This programme will be perfomed on:

Saturday 11 June 2011 at 7.30 pm
Tickets £8.50
Bar opens 7 pm

Sunday 12 June 2011 2.30 pm
Tickets £8.50
Tea/Coffee & biscuits after concert £1.50